Special Services

  • Students are our Focus...
    Special Services is based in the Education Services Center and is led by Director Jody Remsing. Special Services is responsible for providing support to students with a variety of special needs through a wide range of specialized services and educational programs. Special Services is responsible for the following programs:
    • Special Education K-12
    • Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Birth-K
    • English Learner Program (EL)
    • Translation services
    • District Health Services
    • Section 504
    • Pre-school screening
    • Homebound Education
    The Total Special Education System (TSES) is a summary of the District's policy and procedures related to special education services. To review the TSES for Wayzata Public Schools, please click here.
     
    Wayzata Public Schools is required to post the restrictive procedure (RP) plan for any school or program implementing RPs. To review the RP plan for Sunset Hill, please click here. To review the RP plan for Meadow Ridge, please click here.
     
    Below is a link to a mental health resource available to parents of children experiencing mental health challenges and a link to the resources section of the Special Services Department website which has additional resources for mental health services and more.
     
    Minnesota Association for Children' Mental Health
    651-644-7333
    800-528-4511
     
    Special Services Office
    Jody Remsing, Director 763-745-5040 jody.remsing@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Bonnie Johnson, Supervisor 763-745-5041 bonnie.johnson@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Shanna Lecy, Supervisor 763-745-6663 shanna.lecy@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Robin Henslin, Supervisor 763-745-5042 robin.henslin@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Jeri Johnson, Supervisor 763-745-5062 jeri.johnson@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Jen Welk, Office Manager 763-745-5044 jennifer.welk@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Jodie Otten, Secretary 763-745-5033 jodie.otten@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Caroline Gossen, Secretary 763-745-5043 caroline.gossen@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Kelly Ripley, Secretary High School 763-745-6665 kelly.ripley@wayzata.k12.mn.us
    Penny Blankenship, Office Assistant 763-745-5255 penny.blankenship@wayzata.k12.mn.us
     
    Administrative Support
    Birchview Jeri Johnson
    Greenwood Jeri Johnson
    Gleason Lake Jeri Johnson
    Kimberly Lane
    Bonnie Johnson
    Plymouth Creek Jeri Johnson
    Oakwood Bonnie Johnson
    Sunset Hill Bonnie Johnson
    Central Middle Jeri Johnson
    East Middle Jeri Johnson
    West Middle Bonnie Johnson
    High School Shanna Lecy
    Early Childhood Robin Henslin
     
    Other Special Services Areas
    District Health Services Jody Remsing
    Title I & III Jody Remsing
    English Learner Jody Remsing (Ann Fehrenbach)
    Section 504 Jody Remsing
    HomeBoundShanna Lecy (High School) and Bonnie Johnson (K-8)
    Transition Services Shanna Lecy
    Professional Development Jeri Johnson
    New Para Employee Training Caroline Gossen
    CPIJody Remsing (Kristina Lybeck)
    Restrictive Procedures Jody Remsing (Kristina Lybeck)
    Homeless Jennifer Welk
    Transportation Shared support–changes weekly (Jodie Otten)
    MA Billing Jennifer Welk (Teresa Rome)
    SPED Evaluation Team Shanna Lecy
    Occupational Therapy Bonnie Johnson
    Assistive Technology Bonnie Johnson (Carole Ries–Assistive Technology)
    Speech Bonnie Johnson
    Adapted Physical Education Jeri Johnson
    Program Support Specialist Jeri Johnson (Deb West, Amy Vollendorf, Peggy Hirschuber, Adrienne Lewis)
    Psychologist/Social Workers (Mental Health) Jody Remsing