Return to Headlines

WHS students chosen for Minnesota Band Directors Association Honor Band

Two students from Wayzata High School have been selected for membership in the Minnesota Band Directors Association 9-10 Grade Honor Band for the 2013-14 school year.
WHS Sophomore Denis Kornberg and freshman Nick Zaczkowski were two of 77 students selected from 216 who auditioned this winter for a position in the group. They are taught by WHS teachers Donald Krubsack, David Elmhirst and Daniel Tewalt.
They will have the opportunity to work with some of the finest music educators in the state as their section coaches and will be conducted by Dr. Douglas Nimmo. The students will rehears with Dr. Nimmo on April 26 and then perform a 2 p.m. concert on April 27 in the auditorium at Edina High School.
The Honor Band program is an ongoing project of MBDA, a professional organization of band directors representing band programs of all grade levels from throughout the state. The mission of MBDA is to assist the development of band directors and programs in schools, colleges and communities throughout Minnesota.